PDA

View Full Version : Elm HF

Fred Belknap
02-26-2011, 8:54 PM
This is an elm HF 8.5x8.5 inches including the finial. Finish is gloss WOP. Comments good or bad appreciated. :D

Donny Lawson
02-26-2011, 8:58 PM
That looks great to me.

Roger Chandler
02-26-2011, 9:03 PM
Jump on in here Fred! The HF waters are nice! That is pretty! I like that elm, and your finial has got a lot of interesting detail. That form is wider than the one I just did..........what tools did you use to hollow? Nice finish as well!

Allan Ferguson
02-26-2011, 9:06 PM
Great looking wood and HF. Finial pretty heavy. I am just starting to get mine to look like something other than a fence post. Keep on having fun with the turning.

Ron Bontz
02-26-2011, 9:10 PM
Nice piece. The finial is a little heavy for me. But I'm no expert either. I really like your photo booth as well. Reminds me of mine.:D

Fred Belknap
02-26-2011, 9:13 PM
Jump on in here Fred! The HF waters are nice! That is pretty! I like that elm, and your finial has got a lot of interesting detail. That form is wider than the one I just did..........what tools did you use to hollow? Nice finish as well!

Roger I have a Sorby hollowmaster and kelton medium hollower. It was a workout. The wood was from a dead tree and had been in the dry for about a year. It was hard. Thanks for the comments. BTW it didn't get sanded inside, did spray some shellac.

Steve Schlumpf
02-26-2011, 9:59 PM
Fred - this piece works quite well! Nice form and I like how you added a small foot to give the piece some rise. Also like the detail work in your finial! All-in-all - you did really good on this one! Looking forward to seeing your next turning!

Baxter Smith
02-26-2011, 10:06 PM
Nice job. That's some pretty wood.

Jon McElwain
02-26-2011, 10:39 PM
Great crisp details on the finial. What material is the finial? Smooth, fair curves on the body - nice work on this one.

David E Keller
02-26-2011, 10:50 PM