PDA

View Full Version : First "hollow" form and finial

Jon Nuckles
02-23-2011, 4:10 PM
As I was reading the recent thread on inspiration, I realized how much my early efforts are influenced by what I see on this forum. I don't feel bad about that yet, because I think it is akin to art students going to the Art Institute (here in Chicago) and drawing what they see. It helps to develop my turning skills, and maybe some good design ideas will sink in by osmosis. In any case, I have always admired the hollow forms with finials posted here, particularly those by a certain moderator whose name I won't include because I don't want to invite any comparisons!

This is my first attempt at a hf with finial. The body is pretty thick walled, because I don't have any hollowing tools and I am still waiting for my monster system, but the lid hides that fact unless you open it up.;) The body is some very plain maple, the lid is some gnarly maple that I cut away when I was building my workbench, and the finial is ebony I found in the closeout bin for 29 cents! I love the way the ebony turned and polished, but I don't think I'll ever find it at that price again.

The piece is 3.5" in diameter and just over 5" high. The finish is BLO (so far). I know the finial is either too thick at the top or too narrow at the bottom. I'd like to do something to dress up the body (dye maybe?). Any other ideas or comments and criticisms are welcome.
183962 183964183963

bob svoboda
02-23-2011, 4:34 PM
Jon, nice firsts! Not that I'm qualified to be a critic, but to my eye I would like to see the curve continued to the top rather than reversed and a bit smaller top and foot. That being said, you have every right to be proud of this effort!

Mark Hubl
02-23-2011, 4:53 PM
Keep them coming Jon. You did a nice job mimicking your form on the finial.

John Keeton
02-23-2011, 5:02 PM