PDA

View Full Version : Fastening stock for planing

Joerg Bullmann
02-22-2011, 8:18 AM
Hi there,

I have been watching Bob's work bench and marking gauge video podcasts in the Logan Cabinet Shoppe and there is one thing that struck me when I saw him planing stuff. Very often he just puts the stock on the bench resting against a stop or a board without further fixing it in place and he then planes away on it in the direction towards the stop.

Now I have very little knowledge in all this but I am wondering whether completely fastening the stock on the bench (so it cannot move anywhere) makes the task of planing a bit easier, particularly for the beginner. Have not tried it myself, but will.

What do people normally do?

Cheers,
Joerg

Mike Brady
02-22-2011, 8:50 AM
Your conclusion is correct, Joerg. Planing against a stop is a learned skill. It is a factor of good tools, good edges on the tools, and good planing technique. The wood being planed is also a factor. In a production situation, it is a time-saver also. Personally, I like the facility of a good vise whether it is the front vise or an end vise bearing against a bench dog. I built my bench with this in mind and take pleasure in its ability to securely hold work pieces.

glenn bradley
02-22-2011, 9:08 AM
I have a stop on the short dimension of my bench for just such purposes. I also have a stop that drops into the dog holes along the long dimension.

David Weaver
02-22-2011, 9:10 AM
I do not confine the wood in all directions, at least not by force. When you put more than minimal pressure on the wood in any direction, it flexes, and you do not get it flat.