PDA

View Full Version : need opinions: Delta Benchtop Jointer

Kevin Gregoire
02-21-2011, 2:23 PM
im thinking about getting a Delta 6" benchtop jointer 37-070

has anybody tried one and how do you like it? im very limited on
space and for now im only using short pieces of wood so i would
think it should work fine but i want your opinions first please.

and is this an older model then the JT160? any difference?

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41crneBo5rL._AA300_.jpg

Neil Brooks
02-21-2011, 2:26 PM
a buddy of mine has three jointers.

He put a little 6" benchtop Delta on a roll-out tray, under his RAS table.

Says it's the one he uses MOST -- exactly as you describe: for smaller pieces.

Is this one used ?

You may outgrow this one, but -- particularly if it IS used -- probably won't lose any money on it.

I say go for it !

Jim Rimmer
02-21-2011, 5:46 PM
That looks just like my Delta JT160 and I love it. I'm a hobbyist so I'm not running hundreds of boardfeet through it but it works good for me.

Amazon says it is newer version of the JT160.

johnny means
02-21-2011, 6:36 PM
I used one in my shop while I shopped for my permanent jointer. I was able to finish several jobs with it and thought it performed admirably. The fence was a bit fussy and took a little time to get square, but was good enough once squared. I found it useful for parts up to six feet long.

Caspar Hauser
02-21-2011, 7:42 PM
I had one. I don't have one anymore. There's a reason for that.

mike wacker
02-21-2011, 8:49 PM
Had one worked great for it's size limitations. Died early. I'm told to by-pass the speed control to bring it back to life. Boat anchor right now until I try that. But I will as it worked great as it was.

Bill Huber
02-21-2011, 9:10 PM
I have one and its OK but that is about it.

The table on mine came with mill marks on it and was very hard to slide wood over. I use a hard maple block and some emery cloth and about 2 hours work and got is smooth and that works much better.