PDA

View Full Version : From an old crate?

steven c newman
02-20-2011, 7:50 PM
Awhile back, when I was making rubber hose for a living, we got a shipment from Brazil. One container load. In it were crates, inside those crates were bales of EPDM rubber. Ah, but those crates! 3/4" thick, by 3" wide, the boards that made up the sides, top, and bottom were also tongue and grooved, to fit nice and tight together. These boards were a nice light brown in colour. When the crates were empty, we were tojust throw them out......ah, I don't think so. I managed to stash a couple of these crates, and take them home. Some of the projects I built with this "find"... well this little cabinet is the only one I have pictures of. 183477It's been aroundthe block a few times since it was made back about 1990. There wasn't any stain applied, just a coat or two of varnish. This wood would NOT take a stain. The stain would just disappear into the wood, never to be seen again. Grain was very straight, kind of stringy, and had a strange smell to it. 183480Not sure what they called "crate wood" down in Brazil. Those flat panels are just 1/4" luann plywood. One more shot:183481 Any clues out there?

steven c newman
02-21-2011, 2:57 PM
I was just wondering what was used for "crate wood' down in Brazil. There was some "fiddleback" grain to these boards. Glue-up was a dream! These boards never did warp, that breadboard edge has stayed the same forever. This wood will change colour, depending on how much sunlight it gets. It will change to a bright orange, if left in a sunny place. Sanding this wood, all I got was a lot of musty smelling dust. But, when I would scrape the surface with a piece of glass, a nice, polished surface came out.

Just wondering, is all.....

Jim Rimmer
02-21-2011, 5:42 PM
You're not getting any responses and it's probably because their stumped like me. :confused:

Larry Edgerton
02-22-2011, 6:42 AM