PDA

View Full Version : pocket hole jig for hobbyist?

James Baker SD
02-20-2011, 7:29 PM
As a hobbyist, for whom speed is unimportant, but likes to pretend (or dream) that I am an old world craftsman, do I have any need of a Kreg Pocket Hole Jig? I have dreams of making bookcases, desks etc for our house, but would prefer to use mortise and tenon, or at least Domino, joints. During my brief tenure as a pro (as mentioned in Van's poll) I bought a Kreg when speed did matter. Now I am trying to reduce the clutter and trying to decide what tools are expendable due to likely little use. Should the Kreg be on my "get rid of it" list? Thanks.

James

Bill Huber
02-20-2011, 7:38 PM
I think it depends on which jig you have. I am a hobbyist and I have the JR, it doesn't take up much room and I don't use it that much but when I do its really nice to have.

I guess I would keep it unless its the big table type jig.

Jim Rimmer
02-20-2011, 9:08 PM
I think it depends on which jig you have. I am a hobbyist and I have the JR, it doesn't take up much room and I don't use it that much but when I do its really nice to have.

I guess I would keep it unless its the big table type jig.

+1 for keeping it.

Jim Heffner
02-22-2011, 11:28 AM
I vote for keeping the jig! It may come in handy in the future. I mounted mine to a piece of
plywood and hang it to the exposed rafters in my shop, along with other jigs. They are always
close at hand and out of the way!

Alan Wright
02-22-2011, 12:36 PM
James,