PDA

View Full Version : Plough plane cutters: Record 044C the same as Stanley 12-250?

Joerg Bullmann
02-14-2011, 5:14 PM
Just recently I got myself a Record 044C plough plane in very good condition through ebay. I am only just new to woodworking, have tried the plane a little and I like it a lot. It came with all 10 cutters, 9 of which have never been in use. They are still greased and show no rust at all -- as if they had come out of the factory yesterday. The one cutter that is in the plane has not seen much use either. So I am very happy and all set...

I am wondering, though, where I could get replacement cutters. I am new to sharpening and want to be prepared for when I goof up. I have been pointed to Stanley. They offer a set of 10 replacement cutters for their 12-250 plough plane and those cutters on the picture just look like the ones I have. I was now wondering whether anyone here has tried those cutters on a Record 044C and can confirm they fit.

Alternatively I could measure a cutter I have (length, thickness and dimensions of the adjuster slot) and post that info here. Are there any Stanley 12-250 owners here who could check those measures against a cutter of their's?

I have already contacted Stanley and asked them straight out, but they couldn't answer my question.

Can anyone in this forum help?

Cheers,
Joerg

David Weaver
02-14-2011, 5:41 PM
I wouldn't worry about it just yet. It's harder to completely screw up an iron than you think, especially one in a plow plane where geometry of the edge isn't critical.

By the time you really goof one up, you'll be able to make your own plow plane irons. They would be about the easiest irons to make because you could heat treat them with any home center torch and a can of vegetable oil.

Robert Culver
02-14-2011, 6:47 PM
you can get them at tool nut from the UK

http://www.toolnut.co.uk/products/planes/plane_blades,_cutters,_irons