PDA

View Full Version : Bowl drying learning curve

Chris Colman
02-13-2011, 11:12 PM
Since it is beginning to thaw out in my shop, I decided to unwrap and finish turn a couple of walnut bowl blanks that have been drying since last September.

I am new to turning green wood, so my learning curve is pretty steep right now.

Both bowl blanks had good sized cracks in them. Mostly in the rim and sidewall area.

I have been wrapping them in several layers of paper after roughing them to a consistent wall thickness. No DNA or other chemicals used. They were stored in my unheated garage shop over the winter.

Did the unusually cold weather have something to do with it? Did the way I had them stacked (nested like bowls) have an adverse effect on them? Is black walnut particularly difficult to dry successfully?

I would like to get this figured out before I carve up the other walnut logs into blanks.

Maybe some of you veteran SMC turners can give me a few pointers.

I know everyone has their own favorite method, and that none is guaranteed not to crack, but, what method have you had the most success with?

Art Kelly
02-14-2011, 12:53 AM
I had the same thing happen to some big wet black walnut blanks. I stopped everything and Anchorsealed the end grain of the remaining blanks that hadn't yet cracked (two coats) and waited about a year. They cracked less than the first ones. Some didn't crack at all. Patience.

Not that there'e a magic formula. I cut some small red-maple ambrosia maple logs, carefully Anchorsealed them and put them in the garage. They all split, so I'll give them another while and make some little bowls out of blanks worked around the splits.

At the other end of the spectrum, I dug a Japanese Magnolia out of the ground the other day (it was alive but not well). It was soaking wet to the point of slinging water. I roughed them out to 80% or so and sat it in the kitchen. No cracks in two weeks.

Like Outback Steak House. "No Rules."

Keith E Byrd