PDA

View Full Version : 3d or not to 3d

Dean Fowell
02-12-2011, 10:34 AM
Well i was excited to get a test file and run on my laser and see what 3D i could do well nothing it was not 3D am i doing something wrong the test pic came from gantry co does anyone have any tips

Chuck Stone
02-12-2011, 10:39 AM
do you have any more information you can share? Perhaps post the file or your
settings? What software did you use? Do you have a pic of the results?

I've tried some files I found online and they work well enough, but you do
need to tweak your own settings according to the material you use. These
are on Corian.

Dean Fowell
02-12-2011, 11:42 AM
Hay Nice work Chuck,

here is the result and the test file I use 400 speed and 60 for power this is my first attempt maybe im not getting something

Hannu Rinne
02-12-2011, 1:03 PM
Dean,

I think it's a driver issue - check the needed specs from Gantry's site ( under FAQs )

Regards,
Hannu

Chuck Stone
02-12-2011, 1:04 PM
Just tried a quick test with this file, seems to work in 3D OK..

Might need to share a little more about your settings in the driver. DO you have
a setup for 3D? I know in mine I can specify certain powers/speeds to individual
colors. So I set up a grayscale palette and assigned settings to several levels of gray.
This is a jpeg file, RGB and printed out of Photoshop. (all raster)

Larry Bratton
02-12-2011, 2:01 PM
I agree with Hannu. All machines may not be able to handle 3d without a lot of work. My Epilog driver has a setting for 3d.

Dean Fowell
02-12-2011, 4:07 PM
Well I just figured it out I do not have a 3D driver for my machine I will check thanks,

All,

Chuck Stone
02-12-2011, 4:14 PM
i don't have a driver for 3D either, I simply set up different
power levels for different shades of gray. For instance, white
is power level 0, black is 100 power. A mid-range gray might
be 50 power, a 75% gray might be 75 power.
It won't be that easy, and will vary by material. But it gives