PDA

View Full Version : Plow Plane Help

Mark Wyatt
02-10-2011, 10:40 PM
Is there a particular name or function for the plow plane pictured below? I love the form of this plane and simply wonder if it had a particular use or name. Not a maker, but "sash plow plane" or something like that.

Note: In the picture the tote is loose and popping out of it's mortise.

Thanks.

Jim Koepke
02-11-2011, 2:52 AM
Mark,

I am not an expert on woodies, but that looks a bit different than most plow plane with which I am familiar.

Can you post a shot of it straight on from the front?

It looks like the wood next to the blade is on the same level as the blade. This might work for rabbeting, but then the fence is on the wrong side.

It could be half of a match plane set.

Not sure. Maybe Harry will see this post or David might be able to give a good answer.

jtk

Andrae Covington
02-11-2011, 3:28 AM
Is there a particular name or function for the plow plane pictured below? I love the form of this plane and simply wonder if it had a particular use or name. Not a maker, but "sash plow plane" or something like that.

Note: In the picture the tote is loose and popping out of it's mortise.

Thanks.

My guess would be a moving plank match plane, in this case the grooving plane of the tongue and groove pair. Board match planes are the more typical ones we see, same length as other molding planes and usually without a handle. Plank match planes were longer, with a handle similar to a jack plane. Not all of them had fences, but the moving fence would allow centering the groove on a wider range of plank thicknesses.

Mark Wyatt
02-11-2011, 9:02 AM
Thanks Jim. I'll be away from the shop for a few days so I won't be able to get another picture for a while. I'll post one when I do. I suppose it's possible someone took the plane apart and put the fence on backwards.