PDA

View Full Version : OT..... On-line Tax Filer Reccomendations

Von Bickley
02-10-2011, 9:37 PM
Looking for suggestions for an on-line tax filer such as TurboTax or TaxAct.

Have you used one of these?
Were you satisfied with the service?
Pros and Cons?

Just doing a simple return. No deductions.

Thanks for any suggestions or advice.......

Chen-Tin Tsai
02-10-2011, 9:49 PM
I've been using TurboTax since around 2002 and it's worked pretty well for me. For the first few years, I was only filing a 1040EZ, but now I file a full 1040 with itemized deductions. It's pretty easy to use as it prompts you on every item and you answer simply to input the information.

Russell Johnson
02-10-2011, 10:34 PM
I use TurboTax online for many years. Did it once with HR Block online and didn't like it. I like the TurboTax online just fine.

mickey cassiba
02-10-2011, 11:40 PM
If it's just a simple 1040A go to IRSdot gov. You can file on line. You have to do your own arithmetic though.

Bruce Page
02-11-2011, 12:51 AM
Ditto on the Turbo Tax software, been using it for years. I just did mine tonight.

Dave Gaul
02-11-2011, 10:01 AM
www.freetaxusa.com (http://www.freetaxusa.com) is the one I've been using for 5+ years now. Completed my taxes on Jan 31, received my money direct deposit today. Cost me nothing for Federal, State was $9.95 to eFile. Could've been free but it was too easy to just pay the $9.95 for state to be done with it!

Mark Patoka
02-11-2011, 10:51 AM
I've used TurboTax online for several years because my credit union offers it for a discounted fee.

My sons have used TaxSlayer for free as they only have had to file 1040EZs and it seems to work for them. TurboTax may be free for EZ filers as well. For state returns, VA has their own online program that we can use for free so I don't have to pay TurboTax to do it for me.

Lee Schierer
02-11-2011, 10:57 AM