PDA

View Full Version : Basement Workshop

ed mendenhall
02-09-2011, 6:06 PM
Hello,

I’m a newbie attempting to set up a decent shop in my basement.
I will be making mostly cabinets and guitars with occasional furniture.

I put together a preliminary layout with 2 options for the dust collection system.

I have no idea what I am doing but have been doing some research online.

If anyone could take a look at my preliminary ideas and give some
feedback, that would be awesome.

I don’t have all of the equipment yet, but want to design layout and
dust collection for the future so i don't have to re do anything.

Thanks,

Ed

Anthony Whitesell
02-09-2011, 7:39 PM
First ex-nay the 4" mains, especially at the bottom for connecting to the planer and jointer. Planers and jointers are known for making big shavings, so you'll want atleast 5" there as well. Depending on the bandsaw and tablesaw arrangements, if you only have one port then a 4" main might be OK. If the bandsaw has dual ports (like a Grizzly G0513 or better) or the tablesaw has two DC connections (guard and cabinet), then you'll need atleast a 5" main.

Joe A Faulkner
02-09-2011, 9:05 PM
Ed, here's one of my favorite shop tours here at the creek. As you can see, Terry runs 6" all the way to most machines.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?135228-Tour-of-the-shop&p=1370174

One thing that jumps out at me is your tablesaw placement. I buy hardwood in 10'f lengths, and sometimes rip 8' sheet goods on my table saw. So in my shop, I place the TS where I have 10' on each side of the center of the blade.

ed mendenhall
02-10-2011, 9:41 AM
Anthony and Joe,

Thanks guys, I'll increase the main ducts. It looks like Terry runs the 6" for the drops as well. Do you think there is an advantage either way to running one size main and drops as opposed to stepping up with smaller duct at ends of the run? Also, an article I read cautioned against over sizing a branch as the flow will drop below 3,500.