PDA

View Full Version : Engraving on Crystal

Annette Plamondon
02-09-2011, 10:27 AM
I have to engrave on some optical round crystal awards and the front of them slant so it is not level. I know I have to get it level before engraving it but my question is do I engrave on the back of the award just like acrylic or do I engrave on the front of it?

My boss who doesn't know much about engraving, neither do I, says I should engrave on the front but I thought it would go on the back....

This is the award I am engraving on. I also have the settings 100% speed at 25% power. I am using a 30W laser

I am new at this!181963

Mike Null
02-09-2011, 10:30 AM
I prefer to engrave the back and do so on all crystal, glass and acrylic awards.

In order to position this securely I would put the base at the back ruler of the table and the left edge against the left ruler. I also use transfer paper or leave the original paper in place and run a test at low power so that you can check the placement of the art. Your art will have to be mirrored and flipped upside down.

Sorry if I've mentioned things you already know.

(I also agree with those who have later posts that sand blasting is the preferred method of marking crystal and glass.)

Ross Moshinsky
02-09-2011, 10:44 AM
Be careful lasering crystal. It's tricky. Most people sandblast it.

Gary Hair
02-09-2011, 11:06 AM
First, I would sandblast it, not laser it. Second, I usually etch the back side of any clear material, glass, crystal, acrylic, etc.

Annette Plamondon
02-09-2011, 11:08 AM
I don't have the means of sandblasting :( I don't even know how it is done.

Dan Hintz
02-09-2011, 11:37 AM
It comes down to personal preference, and I prefer engraving the back. The front of the award is wiped down the most often, so I don't want grime getting caught in the engraving every time.

Bjorn storoien
02-09-2011, 12:03 PM
i do a lot of glass and crystall

front or back ? do it the way you like it