PDA

View Full Version : etiquette question for people who do custom work

Zach England
02-08-2011, 11:25 PM
I commissioned a piece of artwork by an acquaintance whom I consider a casual friend. I saw the piece today and was very pleased and I know she spent a lot of time and thought on it. She gave me the final price and I felt like it under-valued her work. Is a "gratuity" inappropriate? I have never commissioned artwork before so i am not sure of the etiquette involved. I want to show her that I value the piece and her thought, but I don't want to be patronizing or condescending.

Steve Griffin
02-08-2011, 11:39 PM
Zach,
Don't hesitate for a second!

While it is uncommon and not expected to receive a gratuity for custom work, it is almost certainly going to be greatly appreciated.

While I'm not a fine artist, I have produced some high end furniture. On a couple occasions I received extra payment. In one case it was a sizable check in a christmas note. I can't tell you how much those gestures meant, and it's far more than the just the money.

I'd even go so far as to say that those moments of customer satisfaction are what keep me going sometimes.

-Steve

Mike Henderson
02-08-2011, 11:58 PM
I've had people pay me more than I asked for a piece I made for them on commission. I took the money with a big "Thank You!"

Mike

Jon McElwain
02-09-2011, 1:48 AM
I agree, gratuity would be greatly appreciated - it is really tough to find that balance between doing great work and making more that a few bucks an hour for your time. However, even more appreciated than the gratuity would be referrals and repeat business. Repeat customers and word of mouth are the bread and butter of many artists IMHO.

Bill LaPointe
02-09-2011, 4:29 AM
Whenever someone exceeds my expectations for any kind of work I have always paid more than the agreed amount. It expresses my appreciation for excellence in performance and they are always happy to do additional work any time they are asked.