PDA

View Full Version : Bloodwood moisture content

Wayne Minami
02-04-2011, 2:55 PM
I just bought a rough 5/4, 6'5" long 4" wide bloodwood board.
It has a moisture content of 8.5% and was being stored in an unheated warehouse.
I want to mill it to 4/4, 6' long, and 2" wide and glue it between two walnut boards. The walnut has been in my shop for weeks at room temperature and the MC is 4.5%.
My question is: should I wait before milling it and should I wait to try to get the MC down closer to the walnut.
Or, what are the consequences of not waiting?
I am relatively new to woodworking.
Thanks.
Wayne

Harvey Pascoe
02-04-2011, 4:06 PM
Bloodwood is much harder and denser than walnut and as a result does not give up moisture readily. You could wait another two years to get down to 4.5, if ever. I use bloodwood quite a bit and most of my stock runs 10 -12 and though I cut it into 0.100" strips, they do not warp, so I'd say 8.5 is about as dry as its going to get.

Brian Tymchak
02-04-2011, 5:08 PM
Wayne,

Personally, regardless of the MC, I would let the board acclimate in my shop for a couple weeks, as I do with all new lumber. Maybe some would consider that overkill but I've experienced how much newly purchased lumber can move when being cut.

My standard method is to wait a couple weeks for any new boards to acclimate to my shop, then mill close to final dimension, maybe to within a 1/16th in all dimensions, sticker it for a day or two to finish moving, and then do the final milling. Use the board immediately after that final milling. As you mill the board, particularly if you are removing a lot of material, the fresh surface is typically higher in moisture content than the surrounding environment. As this moisture comes to equilibrium in the shop, the board can move (warp).

Brian

Wayne Minami
02-04-2011, 5:46 PM
Harvey and Brian
Thank you so much for the advice.
I will wait to do the milling.