PDA

View Full Version : Chicago Blizzard

Rob Wachala Jr
02-02-2011, 11:13 AM
Put some photo's up I took from yesterday when snow started and a few from this morning. Unfortunately they did not show up in a comparison order and I"m to lazy to change all the file numbers and re-upload to fix it. A good eye will catch before and after -- Still snowing here and snow is so high on my doors I may have to go out the window to get outside.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/album.php?albumid=555

Ken Fitzgerald
02-02-2011, 11:21 AM
Ray,

It's time to hunker down!

I survived the winter of '78/'79 there in Chicago. We moved back from Oregon and checked into a motel. I had roughly 3 engineers working for me (I was a new manager) and none could get around for 3 days or so. I had a 4WD Scout II and did get around. Driving down Wilson Avenue to get to Ravenswood Hospital to work on the CT scanner, I had a woman chase me for a block wanting me stop and pull her car out of the snow drift. That was the year the guy got shot and killed for putting a sprinkler on his neighbors car and turning on the water.

harry strasil
02-02-2011, 12:02 PM
If your shop is inside, make snowshoes so you don't disappear when you go out the window.

Charles Goodnight
02-02-2011, 12:17 PM
I was in Chicago in '79. It was pretty amazing. The big fun comes with the cleanup when they can't find a place to put all the snow. Here in Vermont we are getting nailed right now. I am pretty sure we will end up with more snow on the ground than you, but then we are used to it. They didn't even bother to close the university today, although I am curious how many will actually be in class. Most will probably be skiing!

Bill Edwards(2)
02-02-2011, 1:08 PM
We're about 2 hours SW of Chicago and got a lot of it too.

My wife and I are real tired of winter but Jake really shows his distain!

(but since this is about Chicago, maybe it's da' stain):D

Rob Wachala Jr
02-02-2011, 1:42 PM