PDA

View Full Version : Brace Chucks, Lion & .......?

Mike Holbrook
01-31-2011, 11:11 AM
First I have a MIllers Falls #772 brace with the Lion chuck and Leland's universal jaws. Turns out the wire between the two sides of the jaws was twisted and popped loose from the weld on one of the jaws. I ordered some jaw parts from Stanley but they do not match up, newer (economy?) style. I was wondering if anyone has experience repairing a Lion chuck? I tried bending the wire back into the original shape and so far it is still in one piece, although it is still not exactly correct. I can get the end of the wire back through the whole but the jaw slides around on it. I guess it could be spot welded back in place, but I have no experience in such things. I was thinking about bending one of the new pieces of wire that came with the replacement jaws and trying to get it into the shape the older piece was in. Any ideas?

I see some chucks that are simply cylindrical in shape with two protruding jaws sticking well out from the end of the chuck, like a Millers Falls #1050-1054:
http://oldtoolheaven.com/brace/brace5.htm

Can anyone give me some idea of how well these jaws work with various bits, drills....? Just wondering if these chucks are good "users"?

Dave Matson
01-31-2011, 6:22 PM
I'm not sure if this will help but here a pic of the jaws on my 771. The wire has been swaged after being inserted into the hole in the jaw which prevents it from sliding off the wire. These chucks make great users and are just as good as other ball bearing chucks like those in the yankee braces. Supposedly they can hold round bits well, but I did not have much success when trying to hold the larger sizes in a Millers Falls 13 breast drill which uses the 'master chuck' yet the same type of jaws. Its better to get a breast drill with a three jaw chuck to handle round bits and leave the augers to the brace (or you can get a set of round bits with square shanks). Good luck!

Mike Holbrook