PDA

View Full Version : Worksharp or Norton stones?

Andrew Nemeth
01-31-2011, 9:50 AM
Recently, as many of you might know, Home Depot offered the Worksharp 3000 at an incredibly low price. I bit and was lucky enough to get in on the deal. Prior to purchasing the WS I had intended to purchase a set of combination Norton water stones (220/1000 and 4000/8000). I am coming over to the quieter side of woodworking and I have just begun aquiring some planes and chisels to complement my stationary equipment and power tools. The question is, do I keep the Worksharp 3000 or do I sell/trade it for a set of waterstones? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each system? I have considered keeping the WS and still buying stones but I would prefer to put the extra money into another plane if I can settle on just one sharpening system. What are your thought?

Thanks for your help,
Andrew

David Weaver
01-31-2011, 9:58 AM
I have never used a worksharp, but before I started shifting methods around, I would try the worksharp. It won't cost you that much in terms of used sale price that you can get for it if you decide you don't like it, but for practical purposes, you will need something that can grind at some point (i don't know if you have a dry grinder or not, or how you'd plan to do that) and supposing this is the only thing you have to grind accurately enough, and you dump it and get waterstones, you'll be in a pickle sometime when you drop an iron or chisel, or otherwise just when you need to move the primary on a large A2 iron back, or do some refurbishing to a vintage tool.