PDA

View Full Version : The Vortex strikes again!!!!

Richard Kennedy UK
01-30-2011, 9:36 AM
No sooner do I join this Forum than I find myself with a new shopping list. I thought I was settled for a while but no! Where did articulated and captured hollowing systems come from???? You don't see this kind of thing in the UK much but log in over here and BOOM I am suckered!

I wonder If I could make one? I have no real metal work experience but it doesn't look too hard??? (famous last words!)

Like I say That darn Vortex there is no escape!:)

Ken Fitzgerald
01-30-2011, 9:38 AM
Richard,

There are 2 basic styles.....the articulated and the captured. Members here have made both. I'm sure they'll respond with photos.

Richard Kennedy UK
01-30-2011, 9:43 AM
Yes I have been looking back through some of the threads some ingenious designs! I don't know if I am capable to do it or if I should just start saving again. Any tips would be welcomed!

Richard Madden
01-30-2011, 10:46 AM
Richard, I made mine with the help from Bill Bolen here at SMC. Here is a link where I showed some pictures; http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?144794-Elbo-tool-or-homemade-equivalent&p=1473579&highlight=#post1473579 . I have been really happy with the tool. The only thing I have changed from the photos is the addition of a length of conduit to enclose the vertical piece of all-thread holding the laser. I was getting some vibration at the laser causing the beam to jump around. The conduit solved that issue. Making this thing was a bit of a challenge because of the lack of tools and knowledge for metalworking, but it all came together, and I'm happy with the results.

Richard Kennedy UK
01-30-2011, 11:16 AM
Thanks for the link I hadn't found that one yet! It looks brilliant I may be asking for dimensions etc if I pluck up courage to have a go!

Bernie Weishapl
01-30-2011, 11:42 AM