PDA

View Full Version : How do I cut a long slot in plywood?

William Burgess
01-28-2011, 11:47 PM
I am trying to make a 3-in-1 cross cut sled which I found in a shopnotes. I am currently trying to cut a slot in the middle of a plywood peice which attach to the top of the sled. If you look at the pictures (I found these on the web)

http://futsing.homeip.net/woodshop/cutoff_sled_pics.html

You will see the top peices have a long slot right in the middle of it. The slot is 3/8" wide. How do I cut this slot? I was thinking with a router bit, but I don't have an edge guide (but I do have a router table). Is this something I could do with a router table? Drill some holes at the end, line up the fence to the right distance and insert the bit into the hole and slide it along until I reach the spot I need? And is this safe/what should I be careful for? I am very new to woodworking and am trying to figure out the best way to do this. Thanks!

William

hank dekeyser
01-29-2011, 12:16 AM
William, welcome to the wonderful world of woodworking. Take what I say with a grain of salt. When I started this "hobby" I too wanted to make every jig, gizmo, add-on I could find. And I did make quite a few goofy jigs and stuff. Almost all of them ended up in the woodstove after gathering dust on the shelf. Ask yourself, what do you want to build / make out of wood, and are the fancy jigs neccessary to accomplish that ? I say this because I see similar jigs in the magazines frequently and how everyone says they're the best tool they have for their table saw etc. - I built one, and then never used it, I can do the same thing with a piece of wood bolted to the mitre gauge and a stop block. (or my sliding mitre saw, which resides next to the TS)