PDA

View Full Version : Bowl #'s 2, 3 and 4

Warren Gibson
01-28-2011, 11:09 PM
A week or so back I posted some pics of my first bowl. Here are the next three in order. I've been turning pens for about 3 years now, but I am HOOKED on bowls. I am already obsessed with trying to make each bowl better than the last. I currently have another one on the lathe and another blank ready to turn tomorrow.

The one problem I just can't seem to get past is tear-out. I've sharpened my tools as good as I can but it still doesn't seem to be enough. I guess I have to just get better at sanding :(

Thanks for looking and any comments or criticisms are welcome.

#2 - Walnut with small foot - 6.5 x 4. This block was VERY dry and the grain is really open. Tear-out was really a problem.

#3 - Katalox with a contoured base and recess in the bottom - 8.5 x 2.5. This wasn't too bad. Wood is really dense and grain really tight.

#4 - Cannot remember for the life of me what this wood is. I've had it on the shelf for over a year. No foot, just a shallow concave recess on the bottom - 3.5 x 3

Michael James
01-28-2011, 11:28 PM
Hey Warren, welcome from NM. The pieces look good from here - thanks for posting! I'll put a quarter on orange osage for #4.

Brian Effinger
01-29-2011, 12:29 AM
They are all nice, Warren, but #3 is my favorite (mainly for the form). The tool & sanding control will come with practice, as I'm sure it did with the pens.

Tim Thiebaut
01-29-2011, 12:55 AM
These look great Warren, I am working on my first bowl now and I hope it comes out looking half as good as these.

Bill Hensley
01-29-2011, 6:26 AM
Nicely done on all.

I get my best results on tear out by shear scraping with a sharp bowl gouge making multiple light passes.

John Keeton
01-29-2011, 7:01 AM