PDA

View Full Version : Recommendation for a socket set

Burt Alcantara
01-27-2011, 10:07 AM
I've been using an ultra cheap HF socket set for the past 5 years. There's not one socket in that set that fits anything snuggly. On top of that, the sockets often fall out of the wrench. It's time for a better set.

I'm aware of Craftsman, Husky and Kobalt. The needs are fairly minimal. Routine maintenance of things. I don't work on cars. A good selection of both Imperial and Metric. For the very large nuts I have purpose bought sockets so my need is for an all-around set.

Any recommendations?

Thanks,
Burt

Callan Campbell
01-27-2011, 10:26 AM
If the broach or square hole of the socket is worn enough to fall off a ratchet , then yeah, you have problems. I'm guessing the ratchet is OK, and not ALL sockets fall off easily? You want to get a set that has a lifetime warranty, so if any of your new sockets from the set start to fall off the also new ratchet, you can exchange them. I don't know if HF allows for this, but Sears/Craftsman and others do, so maybe check them out. I tend to look at the rachet design, its function, and how comfortable it fits in my hand much more than the socket performance of most sets. I find many rachets in a set are not to my liking, but the sockets are OK, so I have several high end rachets to run all my simple sockets. And I resell the unused ratchets off like on Craigslist etc.
12point sockets are the most common, and usually the cheapest. If you're not needing 6 point sockets for rusty nut and bolts like on a car[you mentioned you didn't need any auto maint tools], then you have the most to choose from for general usage.
I've had good luck with either Sears or Home Depot for general type sets, the warranty for "Husky" tools I haven't had to mess with yet, but Sears is always easy to deal with for worn hand tools.

Matt Meiser
01-27-2011, 10:36 AM