PDA

View Full Version : Work in progeress ....questions

Roger Chandler
01-24-2011, 5:31 PM
Here is a Osage Orange HF I am working on in the freezing weather, so can't do it all at one setting. It is about 8 inches high where I am going to part off the bottom, and about 6" wide + or - a fraction.

I have hollowed it out to about 3/4 inch on the inside. Now my question...........I want to do a DNA soak, and need to know should I hollow it more, or is now the time to do the soak? Also, if I soak it now, will I likely have problems remounting it? Will the wood shrink as it soaks or dries after the soak?

I am a complete newbie on DNA drying method.....what I have learned has been only from reading comments here on SMC........I did not even know this method existed before SMC.

All constructive input would be appreciated........and any comments on the form so far would be welcomed. This is my first of this type form......I have done some other hollowing [vases] but I also intend to make a finial for this one when I get it finished and use some holly JK sent me awhile back for the finial......probably will ebonize the finial. I have not yet received my Monster Hollowing rig, so this is being done with Ellsworth hand held tools.

179571179572179573179574179575http://www.sawmillcreek.org/images/misc/pencil.png

John Keeton
01-24-2011, 6:37 PM
Roger, I am probably not the one to comment in that I have never done a vase form, nor a wet endgrain turning, nor osage......just realized, I probably should just keep my mouth shut!!!

But, hard for a lawyer to do that! Were it me, I would use some of that thickness to perhaps refine the outside profile, then even up the walls to around 1/2" or a little less. I think you would do fine with that. But, then, I have never done....... well, you get the idea!:D:o

Jim Adkins
01-24-2011, 6:51 PM