PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions and feedback wanted

Darin Hornsby
01-24-2011, 9:06 AM
Hey, guys. I'm very new to turning, though it has quickly become a new obsession! I have a few questions (actually I have a ton, but thought to start off slow):

When doing a type of handle where you need to finish or turn one end (i.e. a bottle stopper), I use my Nova chuck to hold one end in so I can turn and finish the other end. The issue is that it typically gets very wobbly. I typically start off with using a drive & live center and get as much done as I can, then switch to the chuck to get that one end done. Am I going about that wrong? The only way I can get any work done is by holding the piece still with one hand.
Rust removal products- I just bought Evapo-Rust to remove rust from my lath and some chisels (I bought them used). I LOVE that product. It works miracles. Now that I got the gunk off, what do you recommend to lubricate moving parts- i.e. live center, drill chuck, etc?
Lastly, I'd like y'alls feedback on my latest project- I made a handle for my espresso maker's portafilter. What do you think? It's from cocobolo and I made a cap from River Red Gum burl.
Thanks!
Darin

Tim Rinehart
01-24-2011, 9:32 AM
Welcome Darin, you'll find lots of great advice here...hopefully, mine will help too!:rolleyes:

From what you said, I think the wobble may be in part due to switching from a drive center to the chuck. Your best situation is to chuck a piece of wood one time, start to finish. That being said, you may need to pre-drill the one end prior to chucking it. I would always leave a little material on the 'finish end' that I can bring the tailstock up for support, and then lightly take off that remaining 'nub' when all other turning is done. Very light cuts when unsupported at the tail end, especially if the piece has some length to it. (more than a couple inches) You'll get feel for it.