PDA

View Full Version : Lines in thick engraving

Andrew Barney
01-23-2011, 10:11 PM
Hello everyone,
I am new to the engravers world. Picked up a used ULS25E 25w engraver. I noticed when I engrave thick areas I get horizontal lines in what is being engraved. This happens on all of the materials I have tried this on and there does seem to be a pattern. The laser tube was replaced a little over 1.5 years ago and has low hours on it from what the previous owner mentioned.

The picture below was engraved into Rowmark at 30% power, 100% speed, 500 PPI. I cut it out whwen done with no issues at 75/2.0/500. Everything I have vector cut has given me no issue. Smaller letters do not show this type of effect.

Any help or suggestions is appreciated.

Thank you!

Andrew

Mike Null
01-24-2011, 5:45 AM
Only a guess but that seems to be a leak. Have you contacted ULS tech support?

Andrew Barney
01-24-2011, 11:31 PM
Mike,

I actually called them today. Very helpful folks for a 12 year old machine! I was impressed.

They had me adjust the tickle settings, which seems to not be fixing it. He thought it may be a leaky tube...

When you said leak, I thought, good... a HV leak or some such thing. Sadly you meant leaky tube. Lame.

Anyways, I sent them some photos of the trouble and am still messing with the tickle settings.

Thanks,

Andrew

Mike Null
01-24-2011, 11:53 PM
Andrew

Sorry I wasn't more specific. I had a leak problem on an old Epilog I used and we did not have to replace the tube. It was 12 years ago and I've forgotten what we did but Epilog tech support walked us through it.

It's possible that this is a communications issue. I would replace your printer cable if you have a spare on hand. At least disconnect, clean and reconnect it. Reinstall your driver (ask ULS for the latest for your machine). Maybe reinstall the printer/port- I imagine that uses parallel cables.

Andrew Barney
01-25-2011, 12:40 AM
Mike,