View Full Version : cupped tabletop

Wayne Minami
01-23-2011, 11:59 AM
I am new to woodworking. This is only my fifth project.
I am making a trestle dining table out of walnut.
The top is 72X40 and is made of four boards.
When I glued them together, the top was flat. Now I have a cupping that is 1/4" deep in the middle on one side and 1/8" on the other.
I put a thin coat of brush on oil based minwax polyurethane on the top and a day later flipped it over and put another coat on the underside. The next day I noticed the cupping (on the topside, the sides are higher than the middle).
The temperature in my workshop varies from the mid 50's to low 70's. Since it is winter here in Virginia, the humidity is low.
Can anyone tell me what happened and what I can do now?
I do not want to rip the boards apart, rejoint, replane, and reglue.
Is there any alternative?
Is is possible to clamp the top and gradually increase the pressure to flatten it?
Or would doing this just split the boards?
Thank you.

Mike Barney Sr
01-23-2011, 12:18 PM
How are the rings of the 4 boards oriented? The boards need to be oriented pith side, bark side, pith side, and so forth. The rings will flatten out as the wood dries.

Also, when finishing a larger panel, coat the bottom, or unseen, side first. Then flip it over and place on pyramids or support points and coat the top. By finishing one side and letting it dry you allow moisture to enter or leave the wood almost exclusively from one side, risking cupping. Letting the wood acclimate to your shop for a few weeks before preliminary dimensioning and a few weeks after preliminary dimensioning will help.