PDA

View Full Version : Need jointer/planer advice

Douglas Rush
01-22-2011, 12:53 PM
Hi, I'm new to the forum and I'm a hobbyist looking to add a jointer and planer to my shop. I have a 25x25 ft shop with 220 capability. My budget for both machines is $3000 and so I have lots of options and have searched this forum for hours and I'm still undecided. Right now I'm debating between the Jet JJP-12 combo machine with spiral cutter (for $3k) or going with separate Grizzly machines. They would likely be a Grizz 8" jointer with spiral head (G0490X) for $1250 and a Grizz 15" planer with spiral head (G0453Z) for $1525 (although a secondary question is whether I should get a 20in planer G0454 for the same price but without the spiral head??). I currently don't plan on needing a wider planer than 15in but I guess you never know. I don't own any Grizzly products so I wanted to make sure that that's a good option since their prices seemed so much better than the competition. I'm open to suggestions!
Thanks for your help.
Doug

p.s. I live in rural Ohio over an hour to any major city so buying used machines is out of the question due to availability and shipping issues.

Philip Rodriquez
01-22-2011, 1:13 PM
I have a friend that has the jet and he doesn't like it. I have a 10 Gris jointer and a 15 Griz planer, both with the sc, and I love them. To me, I think it all comes down to how much space you have for your tools. As for if I would go for the 20" planer... I do not see needing it in a home shop. I'd save the cash for other tools.

Victor Robinson
01-22-2011, 2:29 PM
I won't be making the leap to this size/class of machinery for a while, but if I were doing it right now, here's how I would be looking at it:

In my shop, the jointer exclusively sees single boards (as opposed to glueups). The stock I buy is rarely, if ever, over 8" wide.