PDA

View Full Version : Vector cutting - coral vs. illustrator

Mike Kurtz
01-12-2005, 12:38 PM
Hi folks,

Im a newbie, just got my 45 watt epilog and got some questions. I came with experience using Illustrator 9 very proficiently, but I am having a problem getting the laser to recognize vector cutting. I have coral 12 and it works fine with the hairline weight on the line, however I cannot seem to get the laser to recognize the same line in illustrator. Any suggestion?

Lots of great info here! Thanks for the replies.

Ted Shrader
01-12-2005, 12:46 PM
Hi Mike -

Welcome to the Creek. A great place to hang out and exchange ideas. Be sure to visit the other forums around here for additional good info.

Welcome,
Ted

Shaddy Dedmore
01-12-2005, 2:27 PM
Is there a way to specify actual line width? I don't have that program, but MAYbe its 'hairline' is thicker than Corel's. Could you choose say, .025 pt for a thickness? Or as small as you can go.

I can't remember the exact crossover, but the epilog driver has a line thickness where everything below it is a vector, and above it raster. Hairline has always worked for vector for me, because I've stuck to Corel. When I want it Raster, I go to .500 pt

I'm sure someone will pipe up with the crossover thickness...

Welcome to the Creek

Shaddy

Jonathan Szczepanski
01-12-2005, 3:26 PM
Is there a way to specify actual line width? I don't have that program, but MAYbe its 'hairline' is thicker than Corel's. Could you choose say, .025 pt for a thickness? Or as small as you can go.
In Illustrator, you can specify the line thickness to any size that you want, in almost any unit of measurement - points, picas, millimeters, inches, pixels...

I don't know if that will solve the problem though.

Kevin Huffman
01-12-2005, 4:57 PM
Hey Mike,
Welcome to the creek. Come on in the water is great and the information is better.