PDA

View Full Version : Safety Glasses

Dave Graf
01-17-2011, 11:18 AM
Hi Everyone I am Judy Daves wife I have a question or more of a poll :confused:

My husban just got a Laser engraver about a week ago and I told him he should get laser safety glasses
I found them on the net for around $50 he said if you look at the youtube vids etc you will see no one wears them Hmmm MEN ..

So here is the question how many of you use them and why or are these machines safe to use with out them????

No Birds were hurt in the photo.. But I think he needs glasses also..

Mike Null
01-17-2011, 11:56 AM
I've been using a laser for 13 years without laser safety glasses--just my regular tri-focals. No problems.

But if you think he should have them then if I were he I'd go out and get a pair.:)

Dan Hintz
01-17-2011, 12:20 PM
Judy,

Here's an answer, as well as a reason. If it's a CO2 laser (as your picture makes it appear to be), glasses are unnecessary as the glass/plastic window in the lid (usually clear, but any color will do) absorbs all of the radiation. If it's a fiber laser, the lid should be designed to do the same thing... usually this is an orange color (if it's clear, it's a bad design and you should be wearing appropriate eye protection).

Richard Rumancik
01-17-2011, 12:47 PM
Hi Judy and Dave

Most of the systems on this forum are closed boxes (with acrylic or glass lids) and many are classified as Class IIIa. The Class I is for a fully enclosed laser with no risk of the CO2 laser beam exiting the box in normal operation. But most of these lasers have a red-beam pointer, which is active with the lid open. So one could potentially place their eyes in the red beam path. This bumps the laser system into Class IIIa (as a simple laser pointer is often Class IIIa on its own.)

There are interlocks to prevent the CO2 laser tube from operating if the door(s) are opened. But sometimes these interlocks are defeated for long parts etc.