PDA

View Full Version : Laser Engraver Drink Glass Recomendations

Aaron Samuelson
01-16-2011, 4:11 PM
I see a need in my area for selling engraved glasses to restaurants and bars but need some help getting started. I have about 10 years of "Wizard" engraving experience but none with laser engravers and glasses. Your answers are greatly appreciated.

What type of engraver would be good for this type of engraving?

What glass manufacturers have your had success with?

What would a person typically charge for this service?

Thanks Again!

Ross Moshinsky
01-16-2011, 4:31 PM
I think you see a need that doesn't exist. Most glasses at bars and restaurants have the artwork transfered or silk screened on. You will almost never find one that is engraved. Fact is people like GlassAmerica make the idea of laser engraving glasses seem insane.

Now if you really want to do glassware, your first priority should be finding a local distributor. Freight will kill any chance of making a profit quickly. The next step should be to evaluate if a laser is really the best method or is it better to look into an applied artwork or silk screening. You could build a business based on doing low quantities but that also makes it increasingly hard to make a profit.

Gary Hair
01-16-2011, 5:20 PM
To add on to what Ross said - you really don't want to laser glassware. Sandcarving is the only way to get a good frosted etch, not a laser. I have both and can honestly say that I have only lasered about 2 glass items in the last 4 years and it was only because of time - the customer wanted it while they waited and were willing to accept the poorer looking results.

The other thing about laser vs sandcarving is the time - even though it may take less time to do 1 or 2 items with a laser, it will take MUCH LESS time to sandcarve any kind of quantities, such as a bar or restaurant would need.

If you truly see a need then I would suggest sandcarving, screen printing or pad printing.

Gary