PDA

View Full Version : Which router?

Michael Campbell
01-10-2005, 11:34 PM
Posted this over on woodnet, but that forum changes SO fast, I'm afraid I will lose the answers. That said, apologies for the duplication.

===
I'm going to the woodworking show in a couple weeks here in atlanta, and to date, I don't have a nice router so figured I might catch a deal there.

What I'm looking for is something that will last me a while, will accept 1/2" and 1/4" bits, maybe fixed and plunge base, and most importantly, will accept most of the third party add-ons like fences, collars, etc.

I'm a hobbyist at best, so this need not be top of the line, but something I can use for a few years.

A "nice to have" would be soft-start.

I WON'T be throwing around raised-panel bits with it. (If I get into that, I'll buy another router FOR that.)

As welcome are opinions on models to stay away FROM.

Jim Fancher
01-10-2005, 11:46 PM
I have the Porter Cable 895PK kit which includes the fixed base, plunge base, and a wrench to adjust bit height above the router table. The kit also comes with 1/4" and 1/2" collets. I got mine for $229 + shipping from Coastal Tools. Their price is $269 with a $40 instant rebate.

http://www.coastaltool.com/cgi-bin/SoftCart.exe/a/port/895pk.htm?L+coastest+zsry8929ff87f187+1105492796

I believe Bosch makes a really nice kit that runs about $200. Sears sells the same model but it's a different color and include a router table wrench like the PC for about $220.

There are quite a few good router kits out there. I doubt you would regret getting any of the well known name brands that are within your budget.

Greg Mann
01-11-2005, 1:29 AM
What Jim said.

Bill Arnold
01-11-2005, 8:23 AM