PDA

View Full Version : AAW Symposium questions

Scott Hackler
01-16-2011, 12:57 AM
OK, Im fairly new in the woodturning world (relatively speaking) and since I have NEVER been to a woodturning show or symposium of any kind, I have a few questions for those who know.

1) Would it be worth a 10 hour drive and the expense of fuel, food and lodging to attend if I only did the public access things (i.e, free things)?

2) What exactly would the $250 for me and $150 for my wife allow me to do that the general public can't?

3) I understand the for the paid entry fee I "could" bring up to 3 items for the instant gallery. Is this just to show off your stuff or is it a judged competition. (+ I don't know if any of my stuff is "Symposium worthy".

4) Is there enough to do to validate more than a 1 whole day visit? For both paid and public admission?

5) Are there "rock star" type bargains to be had at the vendor show?

Sorry about all the questions but I am seriously thinking about going, but $400 just for the entry....well that seems like quite a bit and if the public access is really limited I am wondering if I would regret the long drive if I didn't cough up the dough....

I figure between entry fees, hotel, fuel and food I could easily drop $750 and that doesn't even count the goodies I might want to buy from vendors... Yikes!!

Alan Trout
01-16-2011, 2:48 AM