PDA

View Full Version : Is the Ridgid jointer worth $288

Cyrus Brewster 7
01-15-2011, 9:09 PM
I have a question for anyone with experience with the Ridgid jointer - is it worth $288? My local HD has it and I am in desperate need for one but was waiting to save for an 8". It is either this or build a sled for the planer.

For the record I am a beginner but found a local supplier of rough cut lumber. This seems like it may be a good deal.

Thanks for any information.

Doug Colombo
01-15-2011, 9:23 PM
I have one for about a year (gift) and have had no issues with it at all. Seems to do the job for a low cost jointer.

Adam Cormier
01-15-2011, 9:30 PM
I have a question for anyone with experience with the Ridgid jointer - is it worth $288? My local HD has it and I am in desperate need for one but was waiting to save for an 8". It is either this or build a sled for the planer.

For the record I am a beginner but found a local supplier of rough cut lumber. This seems like it may be a good deal.

$288 is way under the suggested retail price. I have been looking all over for one but they are extremely hard to come by in Canada. The reviews (and I have looked at many) have been fantastic for a 6" jointer. It even won an award from a popular woodworking publication. If I could get my hands on it, I wouldn't hesitate for a minute.

I have heard that the resale for them is pretty good too, so once you finally have enough $$$$ and room in your shop (if that is even an issue) you should be able to make a fairly good dollar on it to assist with your upgrade to 8" (if you feel that you need to)

Go for it!

Andy Sowers
01-15-2011, 9:31 PM
I have one... I bought it long ago before HD started clearing them out last year. I paid a lot more than $288. For a 6" jointer, its a great buy. Only you can determine whether a 6" or 8" jointer is right for you.

--Andy

Bruce Wrenn
01-15-2011, 9:40 PM