PDA

View Full Version : Another ? for the vacuum chuckers w/ pics

Brad McCollum
01-10-2005, 8:51 PM
Well I got it all put together and tested over the weekend, seems to work great. I still have some little things to do yet, quick disconnects on the hoses, more venting in the cabinet and add some foam on the inside of the cabinet to quiet things down a bit. I have little experience with pumps like this and have a concern about the temperature of the exhaust side of the pump. After turning one small, 6" bowl the exhaust pipe was so hot I couldn't hold my hand on it for more than 2 or 3 seconds. The motor was not hot, just the exhaust outlet. I had the doors open on the cabinet the whole time I was turning and it still got hot. Is this normal? I'd appreciate your thoughts.

Jim Dunn
01-10-2005, 9:15 PM
Use motors like that to bubble air into water (not my design, we just replace them). They don't seem to run excessively hot on the discharge side but we're pumping into
air out that side into water.

Maybe the length of time under vacume is the culprit. Too much vacume and no air flow? Would seem to me you need to move some air to keep every thing cool?

Just guessing as I don't vacume turn.

Jim

Richard Allen
01-10-2005, 9:49 PM
That is a very slick set-up you have there.

Rotary vane pumps take a little while to break in. Once the pump has a few hours on it the exhaust should be a bit cooler.

You should put a filter on the bleeder valve.

Jim Becker
01-10-2005, 10:44 PM
Brad, I have my pump in the cabinet I build within the framework of my Stubby's base and have found that I need more airflow to keep it running cooler than I expected, especially on long turning sessions that use vacuum.

Your setup looks great!! Nice job.

Fred LeBail
01-11-2005, 6:47 AM
Guys,
Where are you getting the Vacuum pumps and at what cost? Is there a supply of surplus equipment or you buying new?
Thanks Fred

Jim Dunn
01-11-2005, 8:16 AM