PDA

View Full Version : What to buy

David Brandt
01-13-2011, 4:42 AM
Hi,

I'm completely new to laser cutters, however, I'm part of a robotics research group and we are considering to buy a laser cutter/engraver since we think it would be a nice addition to our other prototyping tools.

The problem is that none of us has any real experience with laser cutting and knowing which cutter to get is difficult.

Our main requirements are:
Easy to use (ideally it should be usable even by our students)
Accurate
Able to cut at least 5mm acrylic and preferably a lot of other stuff
Not to expensive
Speed is less important since we mainly do single prototypes

Machines we are considering at the moment are VersaLaser and Epilog Zing but any comments and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott Shepherd
01-13-2011, 8:03 AM
The Epilog Zing, Universal Versalaser, and the Trotec Rayjet will all do what you want. All are easy to use, all, with the right wattage laser tube will cut what you said, and all will be accurate.

David Brandt
01-13-2011, 8:11 AM
Thanks.

Next question... How do you find the right wattage? I suppose more is better, but how do you estimate how much you need?

Scott Shepherd
01-13-2011, 8:35 AM
The sales rep can help you with that. You need to tell them what you want to cut and they can tell you what you need. More is always better, but it's also always more expensive. So get as much as you can afford and learn to work with what you got. Also, clear acrylic cuts better since it's clear, than colored acrylics, so if you want to cut 5mm black, make sure you tell them you want to cut 5mm black acrylic.

Also know that the prices quoted by all of those people are negotiable, so try and upgrade to the next size up in wattage for the same price quoted ;)

David Fairfield
01-13-2011, 9:02 AM
You are going to love this tool. The laser is a robot lab assistant, perfect for a robotics lab! :D