PDA

View Full Version : kitchen drawer wood choice?

Billy Trinh
01-11-2011, 8:51 PM
Hi all,
I'm planning to replace the current kitchen drawers boxes and thought I'd take the opportunity to practice dovetail with them as well. I'll be reusing the current oak faceplate and just redoing the box and replacing guides. What kind of wood would you recommend? I was thinking poplar as it seems easy to dovetail from reading the board but would KD douglas fir be ok for drawers? I'm thinking of getting the 2x4 and practice material prep as well (with tailed demons however, not enlightened enough to split boards by hand :p). Is it crazy to try split 2x4 into 1x4 and get the right drawer dimentions? i guess .5x 3- 3.5 finished. What's your thought?

Chen-Tin Tsai
01-11-2011, 11:08 PM
I'm still a newbie at this so take it with a grain of salt. The Douglas fir may be OK, but it would be a bit hard to cut dovetails in as the wood can be soft and crumbly, which causes sides/bottoms to collapse or tear out when you're chiseling waste. I would try the poplar as the wood tends to be a tad stronger and more consistent. Regarding the 2x4's, that works OK. I generally run them through my TS on edge with the blade cutting just a tad less than half of the width and make a pass on either side, leaving the 2x4 connected by a thin strip of wood that I'd then cut out with a handsaw. After hand planing the edges and faces (to bring them flat and parallel), I'd imagine it'd be down to around 5/8"x3 1/4". This is what I did when I was looking for cheap lumber to practice dimensioning boards...an 8' piece of the 2x4 costs a buck at the BORG and would supply me enough material to practice all day! :D

Tim Sproul
01-11-2011, 11:30 PM
Poplar is fine. Seal it with some shellac since poplar can have a less than pleasant odor to it.

Douglas fir, imo is also a good choice, especially since you're in California. Local materials is good. Or is the CA for Canada?