PDA

View Full Version : Working at a cabinet maker?

Chris S Anderson
01-11-2011, 5:40 PM
I have somewhat outgrown what I can do in my little garage shop, and I wish to learn more about joinery and cabinet/furniture making. I have taken a few classes at Woodcraft, but 1 and 2 day lessons dont seem to fill the gaps in my woodworking experience.

I thought about working part time for a cabinet maker or other wood shop, but I am not sure exactly how to go about finding a job, what to expect, or what I could possibly learn.

Most of my experience with woodworking is with fine hand tools, and some power tools, but nothing like industrial sized tools.

Should I just start making phone calls, sending resumes, trying to find someone by word of mouth?

By trade, I'm a 15 year English teacher, so I'm not really counting on that landing me somewhere, but I got lots of moxy.

Brian Elfert
01-11-2011, 6:20 PM
You'll find it nothing like a home shop unless you find a guy who works alone and works at a deliberate pace. A good cabinet maker is going to have all kinds of jigs and such to build cabinets at a high rate of production. Each job may be custom, but the shop will be more like a factory. Less time spent means less customer cost and more profit to the owner. The owner is probably looking less for a woodworker and more for the guy who can insert part A into slot B all day without complaint.

Jim Underwood
01-11-2011, 7:21 PM
What Brian said. I work for a cabinet shop, and it's more of a production process than a fine woodworking shop. Don't get me wrong, we make nice custom cabinetry, but unless you're working for a smaller craftsman style shop, you won't find fine craftsmen in most shops. Production shops aren't likely to be making hand cut dovetails...

In addition, you'll find cabinet shops are hurting and not likely to be hiring since everything in the housing sector is really sucking wind right now.