PDA

View Full Version : Doug Fir Bookcase

Bob Winkler
01-10-2005, 10:25 AM
I'm thinking about building the bookcase featured on the cover of FWW Feb 2003. It is frame and panel construction with cherry for the frame, and QS doug fir for the panels.

I've never built with doug fir before and don't even know where to buy it. My usual source for wood doesn't even carry it. I'm looking for any advice from anyone who has built any furniture with Doug Fir. Basements and room additions don't count ;) .

Thanks for any input.
Bob

Ralph Barhorst
01-10-2005, 10:52 AM
I made a CD storage box from Doug fir a couple years ago as a wedding present for my nephew. I enjoyed working with the wood. I bought quarter sawn doug fir at Lowes. I had to go through a large pile of lumber to select the best quarter sawn DF. About 90% of the wood was flat sawn. It is a little expensive at Lowes but it was the only place that I could find it.

The plans were purchased from Norm Abram.

Matt Meiser
01-10-2005, 11:03 AM
I built my workbench from Douglas Fir (assuming its the same thing.) I ended up buy 2x12x10 construction lumber and machinining it to the sizes I needed.

Jerry Ingraham
01-10-2005, 11:41 AM
I built a pie safe out of 60-70 yr old doug fir and it is beautiful wood, flame orange and lots of grain. Doug fir is very common here in the pacific northwest but not used too often for furniture (at least to my knowledge). That being said, I would and will gladly use it again.

aurelio alarcon
01-10-2005, 11:47 AM
A while back my cousin gave me some 2x10x10' douglass fir that is used here in california for forming cement forms on homes. I cut this down to make a small chest of drawers. I found this same type of douglass fir at lowes fairly cheap (2x10x10' for about 8 dollars). It is listed as "green" douglass fir. Does the "green" part of the description mean that it isn't dried? I did find the douglass fir "select", and it is quite a bit more in price. What is exactly the difference?