PDA

View Full Version : New Member in Michigan

Doug Shepard
01-10-2005, 8:23 AM
Hi folks. Thought I'd introduce myself. I stumbled across this site last week and joined up. As much net surfing as I do, I amazed that I haven't discovered this site sooner. I'm a weekend wood warrior in Waterford, Michigan on currently WW hiatus until the shop (garage) gets warm enough to work in again. I've been woodworking for about 25 years now and I still don't know nuthin.

Didn't have a digital pic of myself handy, so the Avatar is of my little girl 'China' - an Aussie/Chow mix shelter rescue adopted last year who lays patiently on the shop floor while her dad makes all that noise and sawdust.

Don't have that many digital pics of projects yet. I've got to get some of my earlier stuff scanned into digital format, but here's the last major piece I did. Sorry in advance for the picture quality. I'd just gotten the digital cam and was still learning with it. Got some very wierd reflections off the kitchen floor that look like bird crud on the bottom of the legs.

This is made of cherry, Corian top, and paduak inlay and tenon pins.
It's one of 4 I made of the same materials, but the other 3 are rectangular - one low coffee table, and 2 end tables with lower square grid shelf.

Doug S.

Tyler Howell
01-10-2005, 8:28 AM
Welcome Doug,

Beautiful work, Glad to have wading in the creek.

David Wilson
01-10-2005, 8:38 AM
Welcome aboard Doug. Nice work.

Glenn Clabo
01-10-2005, 8:40 AM
Welcome to SMC Doug,
Nice work!
Can you give us a hint on how you did the bottom shelf? Individual parts---bent?

Mark Singer
01-10-2005, 8:45 AM
Very nice work...Welcome to SMC

Ken Fitzgerald
01-10-2005, 8:47 AM
Welcome to the 'Creek Doug! Great work!

Jim Hinze
01-10-2005, 8:55 AM
Welcome form a fellow Michigander! Beautiful Work sir!!!

Where about's are ya from?

Doug Shepard
01-10-2005, 8:58 AM
Glenn