PDA

View Full Version : A question from a rookie

Jim Heikes
01-10-2011, 1:18 PM
I am really new to the turning game..............I'll have plenty of questions over the next months but a first one is.........I have a supply of blanks arriving which are coated in wax.......do I simply "turn off" the wax or is there a preferred method......:confused:

By the way.....the only good thing about winter is being able to spend all day in the wood shop!!!!!

Michael James
01-10-2011, 1:41 PM
Welcome to the creek! Yes, just chuck it up and have a go. Sharpen up your credit card, because this is one deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep rabbit hole - the Vortex!
Also, great and very knowledgeable people here to answer all your questions.
mj in NM

Roland Martin
01-10-2011, 1:49 PM
Welcome to the Creek, Jim. I scrape mine off prior to mouting it mostly so I can get a better look at the figure, grain and colors to help determine how it should be mouted. I use a paint scraper and it scrapes off very quickly. Hope to see some turnings from you in the future!
P.S. I'm kinda' a rookie too, so don't only take my opinion:)

bob svoboda
01-10-2011, 1:55 PM
Welcome, Jim. I just turn mine off 'cause I'm too lazy to scrape it.

Jim Burr
01-10-2011, 2:41 PM
Hey Jim...welcome! Your first posting should be of a full wallet...cuz it's gonna be empty from now on! To your question...turn that stuff right off...easy squeezy lemon peezy

Jim Heikes
01-10-2011, 2:56 PM
Thanks to all of you for a quick response.................I've already been caught up in the Vortex........Packard, Monster, Craft,. et al already know me on a first name basis. Ever since I got my 3520 last month the $$$$ are going in one direction. The great thing with retirement is that I can spend many hours in my workshop everyday!!!!

Steve Schlumpf
01-10-2011, 3:03 PM
Jim - Welcome to the Creek! Looking forward to seeing some of your turnings real soon!

John Keeton
01-10-2011, 3:26 PM