PDA

View Full Version : 1 HP router - okay for small project?

Florin Andrei
01-09-2011, 1:40 AM
Hi, I'm new to woodworking. I'm doing this small project (a telescope mount, the thing that the tube is mounted on):

http://stellafane.org/tm/dob/

The material is 3/4" plywood - or maybe I'll use poplar or pine instead of plywood. I need a tool to cut the plywood, I'm especially concerned about the big circular cuts. I was told a router with a circle guide could do the job. Okay, I'm going to purchase a router, maybe I'll use it for other things in the future.

Basically, it's down to these two choices:

A small 1 HP router:
http://www.amazon.com/Bosch-PR20EVSK-1-Horsepower-Fixed-Base-Variable-Speed/dp/B000ANQHTA/

A regular 1.75 HP router:
http://www.amazon.com/Porter-Cable-690LR-Amp-Fixed-Base-Router/dp/B00005QEVQ/

I've been told to just get the regular-size router. But I'm very tempted by the small one. This is a very small project, it's not like I'm making barn doors. I played with both routers at the store, and the little one is so easy to handle. It also seems easier to use when cutting small pieces. And it will definitely be more comfortable to use for mortising hinges, things like that, working in tight places hard to reach.

This is a tool that I'm going to use very rarely. I'd hate to buy the large one and see it collecting dust in a corner. I'm much more likely to cut a sheet of plexi once in a while (and the little router would be perfect for that); but woodworking, not that much.

Am I really going to hate the little router when cutting the 3/4" plywood for the telescope mount? Speed doesn't matter, this is a one-off project and I have all the time in the world. And, after all, it has near 60% the power of the big one, and I know people who did a telescope mount with a Dremel Trio, which is 1/3 the power of the small router.

Please let me know if I'm missing something here.

Bruce Page
01-09-2011, 2:03 AM