PDA

View Full Version : I need Plane Advise

Larry Feltner
01-06-2011, 9:46 PM
I am a hobbyist woodworker. Aside from the occasional chisel, I haven't really used much in the way of hand tools. I really want to start buying some quality planes and learn how to use them. I was kind of leaning toward starting with a good block plane and then a smoother of some kind. However, I read an article in Fine Woodworking where the author advocates a low angle jack plane with multiple blades honed at different angles. I'm confused as to what is the best route. I don't mind slowly buying multiple planes over time if in the end that would preferable to one multipurpose plane. What is the best way to start and which plane or planes should I buy first? One thing I'm very interested in is finishing boards after they come off the planer instead of sanding and sanding and sanding.

Peter Pedisich
01-06-2011, 10:00 PM
Larry,

I'm at the same stage as you, and if you can fit it into your budget, try a hand tool course. I took a Windsor chair course in 2004, and the instructor took my Stanley low angle block plane from my hand and made 34 seconds worth of adjustments and I was making translucent ribbons of oak. I wish I remembered his instructions:eek:
I may try watching an online video tutorial each night...

Good Luck,

Pete

Mark Baldwin III
01-06-2011, 10:26 PM
Finishing a board after planing? I would look for a decent jointer (#6-8) and a smoother (#3-4, or a 5). If I could have only one, it would be in the smoothing department. Wait, I only have smaller stuff right now :) I'm a hobbyist/beginner myself! The funds you have to spend is a factor as well. As a hobbyist, it might be worth it to fettle a lesser Stanley or Woodriver, (I have some stanleys) versus buying a Lie Nielsen. A block plane is not the right tool for finishing a board IMO. Also, check out the Hock kits. I think wooden planes are great tools.

Larry Feltner
01-06-2011, 11:06 PM