PDA

View Full Version : Engraving on Black Marble

Shawna Flikkema
01-06-2011, 5:38 PM
Hello,

I am new to lasering on marble and I am having some difficulties getting the look that I would like for photos.

Does anyone have a suggestion for getting the lasering to "pop" or be white as opposed
to the light gray that I am coming up with?

I am using a 50 watt Universal and Lasersketch's absolute black marble.

Thank you in advance for any advice!

Larry Bratton
01-06-2011, 6:00 PM
Shawna
First of all, welcome to the forum. You will find lots of information and helpful people here.
I hate to break it to ya, but Lasersketch's absolute black marble ain't marble. That product is best treated as if it were granite. (If you doubt it, then do a quick test. Take some regular vinegar and put some on a place where it won't be seen. If it's marble, the vinegar will mar it). I usually run that product at about 40p/100s at 300dpi. To get it to "pop", get a tube of Winton's Artist Oil paint and rub it into the engraving when finished. Real marble won't require filling as it will laser white with the a properly prepared photo and the right settings. Marble settings are pretty much opposite of granite, high power, low speed. Do a search on here and you will find tons of info on this subject. Good luck with it and have fun!

Ron Thompson
01-06-2011, 6:16 PM
Shawna,

Also Welcome to the Creek

You might want to view all the information at http://www.engrave.ca/ (http://www.engrave.ca/)

And watch the video's They are great.

Tom Bull
01-06-2011, 7:24 PM
Ditto on the paint with granite.
There is good info here:
http://www.coreldrawpro.com/Library/CP-607.pdf
page 14, and there is a companion article in another issue on marble.

John Frazee
01-06-2011, 11:31 PM
I can't remember who to give credit to but I learned from someone here to wipe the black marble with WD40 before you run it.

Dan Hintz
01-07-2011, 6:41 AM