PDA

View Full Version : Digital Caliper Purchase Help Please

Roger Bullock
01-05-2011, 2:15 PM
I'm looking to buy a digital caliper for general use in the woodshop. What do you use, pros and cons, and price points please.

Lee Schierer
01-05-2011, 3:09 PM
I'm not a pro and haven't slept in a Holiday Inn Express either. I purchased a $20 digital caliper from Harbor Freight after my dial caliper died due to sawdust poisoning (dust in the rack gear). It has worked fine for several years and provides more than sufficient accuracy and repeatability for woodworking. Remember it is wood and it can change a few thou from one day to the next just due to humidity change.

Jordan Lane
01-05-2011, 3:16 PM
i highly recommend these .... http://www.use-enco.com/CGI/INSRIT?PMAKA=TK610-0045

Dave Sweeney
01-05-2011, 3:23 PM
+1 on the Harbor Freight. I've used one for many years and its never gotten me into any trouble.

james glenn
01-05-2011, 3:25 PM
I have both the HF digital caliper (the fraction one) and the one from Rockler.

I recommend the HF one if you don't want to spend a ton. I do not like the Rockler at all. Heck, the HF one
at least came with a case to protect it.

Cary Falk
01-05-2011, 3:25 PM
I also have the HF fractional digital caliper. I am still happy with it after about 3 years. I don't remember what I paid for it but I think it was just under $20.

Mark Ashmeade
01-05-2011, 3:54 PM
+1 on HF Fractional. I originally bought the other slightly cheaper caliper, only to find out when I got home that it is decimal only. The fractional one was a whole $3 more expensive. I think it was $15 on sale.

These are like pocket calculators and multimeters. They are so inexpensive and sufficiently featured and accurate for most tasks. I don't see how a much more expensive caliper would function any better. Or calculator or multimeter.

Rich Engelhardt
01-05-2011, 4:09 PM