View Full Version : Beginner Safety-Related Questions

Jon Nuckles
01-03-2011, 5:51 PM
I am fairly new to turning and have a couple of questions that I hope someone can answer.

I bought a PM 3520B, which came with the big yellow cage. I could see leaving it in place to rough big and out of round blanks, but it seems to be in the way (at least visually) for other operations. I have been a woodworker for years and have yet to meet a tablesaw in a home shop that still had its original blade guard in place. Is the cage similar, or do people use it?

I also bought a SuperNova2 chuck, and was surprised to find the size and (especially) speed limitations that are listed in the instructions for the number 2 jaws that came with it. For spigot holding, the instructions suggest a maximum diameter of 4", a maximum length of 6", and a maximum speed of 850 rpm. For a dovetail recess holding, they suggest a maximum diameter of 12", a maximum length of 4", and a maximum speed of 600 rpm. For the woodworm screw, they suggest a maximum diameter of 10", a maximum length of 4", and a maximum speed or 600 rpm. Are these realistic, or are they overly cautious? If they are realistic, are there other jaws that would allow me to turn larger bowls and hollow forms with the SuperNova2? I have some more practicing to do before I will be ready to test the full capacity of my lathe:), but I want to be prepared when I acquire some skills.

Thanks for any candid advice you can give!

Roger Chandler
01-03-2011, 5:58 PM
I have several friends who have a 3520b, and not one of them keep the cage on it. You must however, be safe when turning........machine manufacturers probably include things like the cage to cover their ________just in case someone does not use it safely, that way their liability is limited, and they can say that the end user did not follow the instruction manual.

Disclaimer: Take this with a grain of salt and decide for yourself what it is worth to you! ;):D:D

Gary Max