PDA

View Full Version : Hawaiian Silky Oak bowl

Rick Markham
01-01-2011, 6:30 PM
Howdy gang! I have been busy turning since school has been out, I chose not to post everything as I want y'all to have some bandwidth left over. This is a bowl I made for my mom's birthday, it's my first attempt at an ogee type form.

It turned out pretty well, I did end up with a tool mark from the heel of my gouge on the inside, I guess it is time to round the heel off a bit, I must have set the heel down harder than I would have liked, it only appeared after the finish was applied and i couldn't feel it or see it after sanding to 400.

The walls are 1/4" down to the bottom which is about 3/8". It's 9" in diameter and 4&1/8" tall. I had a lot of fun with this one and even sent John Keeton a PM in utter excitement at how it turned out. Not sure what number this bowl is at this point. I think it is time to set up a photo tent, I had a lot of trouble getting pictures of this one, and these don't really do it justice :(

I hope you all enjoy, and Critique and Criticism is wanted and welcomed!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v295/Rick357/015-1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v295/Rick357/013-3.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v295/Rick357/014-2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v295/Rick357/020-2.jpg

Roger Chandler
01-01-2011, 6:39 PM
Rick,

You are really advancing..........it shows with every turning you post. Wow, what pretty wood this is! I know your mother must have liked it. This is a form that is not seen everyday, and it has a little of that pot at the end of the rainbow look, without the feet of course. I like the flared out rim you put on this as well. Nice finish!