PDA

View Full Version : Choosing planes

Jeremy Hansen
01-01-2011, 3:03 PM
Hi all. I need some advice.

I am just getting into resawing so that I have flexibility of stock. Yesterday I resawed some rosewood, leaving sawmarks. I thought that I would try planing it smooth. Some time it worked well, leaving a great smooth surface. Other times it tore out, or just didn't take off enough to get out the sawmarks. I'm a beginner in the area of planes, and there seem to be so many variables.

First, is it expected that the plane gets sharpened every time it is used? Does it need to be razor/chef's knife sharp to deal with varying grain directions? Also, what plane(s) should be used in the process to go from resawing to a surface that hopefully won't be sanded?

Thanks for your help!

Jeremy

Jim Koepke
01-01-2011, 3:29 PM
Jeremy,

Welcome to the Cave by the Creek. Your profile does not show your location. If you are anywhere near Southern Washington, you are welcome to come by my shop for some hands on help with board smoothing.

What planes do you currently own?

Do you have a spare blade for any of them?

For rosewood, I would think you might have to sharpen the blade not only before starting, but during the use. Rosewood is notorious for dulling blades due to some of the impurities that are in the wood. It is also a difficult wood to work.

When ever I have worked with rosewood it seems the even thinnest shaving could cause some tear out. Having a small plane to use on short areas of grain reversal helps. You may also want to look into having a back bevel on a spare blade.

Here is an article about that:

http://blog.woodworking-magazine.com/blog/You+Call+It+Dubbing+I+Call+It+A+Back+Bevel.aspx

jtk

Jeremy Hansen
01-01-2011, 5:15 PM
Thanks Jim. I've updated my profile. I'm a bit of a ways from Washington, but thanks for the invite. I think it would be helpful to see how to use a plane from an experienced hand with the right tools.