PDA

View Full Version : grain directions with over-and-under jointer-planer combos

Tim Romano
01-01-2011, 8:51 AM
I am a complete newb, and spatial reasoning sadly isn't one of my strengths -- my brain begins to chatter when I think about cutterhead rotation and blade angle and grain direction for more than a few seconds at a time. So I've drawn a diagram to help me ask the question.

I don't have an over-and-under combination jointer/planer yet but am considering one. The cutterhead of my old dedicated thicknessing planer spins counterclockwise. But the cutterhead of an over-and-under would spin clockwise, right?

So, when using an over-and-under jointer/planer with a board that has a chevron-grain, is the board jointed with the chevrons pointing at the cutterhead but thicknessed with the chevrons pointing away from the cutterhead?

Chris Ricker
01-01-2011, 9:05 AM
Hey Tim;
Although I cant speak for all J/P combos, when using my Griz. in Jointer mode the work passes over the blades from right to left and when in Planer mode the work passes under the blade from left to right. The rotation of the cutter head is the same as in your sketch.
I hope this clears up any confusion.
CR

J. Greg Jones
01-01-2011, 9:09 AM
Combo machines feed the opposite direction for planing operations than what they do for jointing operations, or stating it another way, you feed them from right to left to joint, left to right to plane. Just feed the grain direction the same way as what you do with your existing planer.

Tim Romano
01-01-2011, 4:43 PM
Thanks for the clarifications. Left to right would work :-)

Curt Harms
01-02-2011, 9:46 AM
Here's a demo if you're unfamiliar with J/P operation: http://www.jetwilton.com/us/manufacturing/en/product.html?node=4531&product=274240

glenn bradley
01-02-2011, 11:45 AM