PDA

View Full Version : New Tools, New Projects

Michael Simpson Virgina
12-31-2010, 5:26 AM
As a photoagrapher and artist I wanted to bring some of my artistic ideas into the 3D world. I started to build computer cases but found that I was anable to produce some of the parts I needed. It was takeing too long or the parts were not exactly what I had envisioned.

I decided to build myself a CNC machine to make the parts I wanted. I didnt want anything too large as I did not have any extra room in my basement workshop.

After a few attempts I had a small CNC that would produce consistant and acurate parts.

The first project I created on my CNC turned out to be the following clock.

As it started out as a prototype I used only scrap to make the parts. Well since I dont like thowing out anything I decided to actualy add the motor and paint the finished piece.

The Base (front and back) is made from some scrap particle board. It was painted silver then Barn Red, then Brown, then completely coated with Buf n Rub antique gold. It was sanded between each coat then sanded some more on the edges to let various levels of paint through. Then lastly a coat of Pitch Black Glaze was wiped on then off.

The gears were all cut from scrounged 1/2" MDF. They were painted with Rustolium Hammered Coper paint. (2 Coats)

The face was cut from a single piece of scrap 1/4" MDF then painted with Gold Ceramic Glaze. (3 coats)

The spacers between the front and back base plates are made from some old 1/4" dowel stock I had leftover from some other projects. The outside (the part that shows) is 3/8" copper tubing.

The only screws are the 4 brass screws holding the face, and 4 brass screws holding the motor and power cord.

The hands were cut from some scrap 1/8" hardboard.

The only tools used were my CNC, Jig Saw (To rough cut pieces of scrap before they were cut on my CNC), screw drivers of various sorts.