PDA

View Full Version : forstner bit skills

David Wadstrup
12-28-2010, 7:44 PM
Hello,

I'm primarily a hand tool user. Except when it comes to drilling. I need to drill quite a few large diameter and deep hols in some hard maple. Holes all the way up to 2" in diameter and 4" deep. Mostly around 3/4" diameter, though. I'll be purchasing some new Forstner bits for the project. I've never used Forstners before. I understand that they are usually meant for a drill press. I do not have a drill press. I do, though, have a 1/2" hand drill with a hand grip. Do you think I'd be able to use the Forstners with this drill? What would you recommend? I suppose I could try to borrow a friend's drill press if necessary. I'd rather not, though. What is your advice?

Thanks,

David

Chen-Tin Tsai
12-28-2010, 8:31 PM
I don't know about the 2" ones, but I've used a corded drill to drill 1" holes with a forstner bit. It wasn't too bad, but it wasn't easy, either. I tried it with my cordless 18V Milwaukee and it drained the battery after 2 holes. I'd say go slow and try it out. Worst that could happen is you end up borrowing your friend's drill press (which does make it much easier).

Chris True
12-28-2010, 10:05 PM
Forstners are pretty miserable in a hand drill, they take a lot of feed pressure to cut properly. For the smaller holes you'd be better off with a spade bit in a hand drill, a new sharp one cuts pretty clean holes. For the bigger holes maybe a hole saw although 4" deep may be a problem and if it isn't a through hole the hole saw won't work.

Johnny Kleso
12-28-2010, 10:38 PM
If you have a slow speed drill 650 rpm you can do it I think..
Dont try it with a 1500+ rpm drill and the 2" bit :)

You might do better with a brace and bit for holes that large or the new style bits

WOOD SELFEED DRILL BITS
http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=self+feed+drill+bit&tag=googhydr-20&index=tools&hvadid=3667726105&ref=pd_sl_7xrw81wfre_b

Andrae Covington
12-29-2010, 12:40 AM